The regiment was first mentioned documental in 1140, when it was in the possession of Lord Falchenstain. After the house became extinct, Falkenstein got to the Witigons in 1227.
Through Falkenstein, Charloch von Falkenstein founded the abbey of Schlägl.
The Castle of Falkenstein won notoriety through the cruel fate of Zawisch, a true fellow of King Ottokar II of Bohemia. He was captivated and executed by his stepson King Wenzel II in Falkenstein.
From the Rosenbergers, the Oberheimers took over the regiment and rebuilt the castle and the water tower. In 1589, Bartholomae Salburger took care of the regiment and acquired it in 1598.
In 1724, the regiment of Falkenstein and the regiment of Altenhof were united and the place of residence was transferred to Altenhof, so that the castle was deserted.
The castle ruin is is reachable through the hiking trail "Rannatal", starting from Altenhof.
Please get in touch for more information.
Legal contact informationBurgruine Falkenstein