© Photo: Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH./Robert Maybach: Enjoy the view in Upper Austria
Enjoy the view in Upper Austria
SearchSearch
Close

47. Castle Weyer

Gmunden, Oberösterreich, Österreich

1446 a knight's fief belonging to the lordship of Ort as a seat on the Weyr.
Rebuilt from scratch in 1596, elevated to the status of "Free Nobleman's Seat" by Emperor Ferdinand II in 1621, belonged to Count Adam Herbergsdorff, among others. Designated as an orphanage by Karl Josef von Frey, later "K.K. Trivialschule".

As early as 1446, the "Sitz am Weyr" was mentioned as a knight's fief belonging to the lordship of Ort. In 1596, the Renaissance castle with its arcade-lined courtyards and the chapel worth seeing was largely rebuilt and elevated to the status of a "Free Nobleman's Seat" by Emperor Ferdinand II in 1624. The cardinal and prince bishop of Passau, Johann Graf Lamberg, issued a licence to hold masses for the sumptuously furnished place of worship and personally rededicated the original Marian and later Benedictine chapel in 1710. In 1738, the property was converted by its owner Carl Josef von Frey into an orphanage foundation for 12 boys of injured salt miners and in 1777 into a k.k. trivial school. It was converted into a trivial school in 1777.


Today, the castle is privately owned and houses within its historic walls one of the most important and beautiful Meissen porcelain collections in Europe with porcelain treasures for Empress Elisabeth, Tsarina Katharina and 20 other royal houses - a unique cultural heritage of white gold.

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers

Please get in touch for more information.

Contact


47. Castle Weyer
Josef-Frey-Gasse 27
4810 Gmunden

Phone +43 7612 65018

We speak the following languages

German

powered by TOURDATA