Due to renovation works, the museum remains closed in 2020.
As the oldest house in the village Anzenau, the museum “Anzenaumühle” not only looks back on an ancient history, it also shows the way of life and work of past generations like no other house. In addition to a wealth of special features, it grants its visitors a deep look insight into the cultural, social and economic history of the Inner Salzkammergut.
The museum “Anzenaumühle” consists of a so-called “Paarhofverband” with a house, stable, as well as an attached sawmill, mill, plasterer and bakery. The Living room, the mill and the bakery are all under one roof, here people used to live and work closely together. No other house shows the life and working methods of past generations in such an original way and gives its visitors such a deep insight look into the cultural, social and economic history of the Inner Salzkammergut.
The history of the house is as long as it is interesting. The oldest house in the village Anzenau was first mentioned in the “Traunkirchner Urbar” in 1325 and its history has been traced continuously since 1584. A first view comes from a copperplate engraving by Merian in 1646.
Measured against the various branches that were practiced here, the museum “Anzenaumühle” is a unique testimony to the regionally way of building and living. In its current appearance, the residential building represents the building stock of the early 18th century, especially the two ox eyes (oval-shaped windows) are for this characteristic. An extension of more than 300 years old connects to the house.
Water was the central source of energy for the mill and sawmill. The originally approx. 8 m wide water supply (called “fluder”) has now been replaced by a much more modest one. After all, there is still a mill wheel in the creek.
The mill itself with its bakery was in operation until 1960.
The museum has a wealth of special features: in addition to the "Black Kuchl" (old kitchen which is typical for the Inner Salzkammergut), the grain mill is of particular importance. The grinding room, which stretches across the entire basement and only supported by a pillar, can be admired as well as the various grinding courses that are demonstrated vividly. The still operating "Koppmühle", the grain or rye mill - currently disassembled so that visitors can better understand the technique of the grinding process and the wheat or semolina mill can be visited.
In the large living room with the green-flamed tiled stove with a stove bench, visitors experience the life of the past in an authentic atmosphere. A wood-beam ceiling around 1600 in the Renaissance feeling adorns the room. The guild sign of a mill, bakery and sawmill business hangs from the ceiling.
In the bordering bakery, all activities were carried out, from weighing out the flour and preparing the dough to shaping the loaves. In this room, display boards document the development of grinding and show various grinding and milling techniques.
The rooms on the first floor are used as a gallery for temporary exhibitions. Since 2009 the barn is also available for events.
Today's sawmill originally comes from Lungendorf, Kirchdorf district. In 1964 the original sawmill was dismantled - it turned out to be completely unnecessary. Thanks to the fortune, a sawmill of almost the same type was rebuilt more than 20 years later. The building was neatly removed and rebuilt in Lungendorf. Only the foundation wall and the roof were renewed. All other parts could be reassembled as they were built in 1814.
Experience a 360° panorama tour through Bad Goisern at Lake Hallstatt…
Special tours can be made at any time by prior appointment under +43 650 8710 426 or +43 664 73827 964
The museum “Anzenaumühle” is located between the old salt market in Lauffen and Bad Goisern at Lake Hallstatt. The museum is situated in the village Anzenau next to the B 145.
no parking fees
Adults € 11.00
Children € 5.00
Please get in touch for more information.