© Photo: Oberösterreich Tourismus GmbH./Robert Maybach: Enjoy the view in Upper Austria
Enjoy the view in Upper Austria

Fürstenhammer Outdoor Museum

Lasberg, Oberösterreich, Österreich
  • Suitable for groups

A Warm Welcome to the "Fürstenhammer" Outdoor Museum

Nearby the Dornach Castle in ruins you will find this old Smithy that was built in 1570 and ceased operation in 1970.
A reason for the Smithy´s late closure may be the production of scythes, which were exported to Bohemia. Most of the hammers were produced during the reign of Maximilian II (1527 to 1576), in order to support the "Iron Company at Steyr".
In the years 1981 and 1982 the Smithy was restored under mayor Friedrich Höller, with the help of the owners Max and Herta Himmelbauer. The Smithy´s interiors are preserved in original state. On appointment visitors can watch the water-powered hammer on weekends. At the Smithy, visitors can strike their own "Lasberg Glücksheller" coin as a memento of their visit (Euro 2.50).

Open year-round:
Daily 09:00am to 6:00pm
Guided tours for Groups can be arranged anytime by appointment (takes 30 minutes)

  • Registration required

Travelling by public transport
Route planner for independent travellers
  • Suitable for groups
  • Suitable for seniors
  • Suitable for single travelers
  • Suitable for friends
  • Suitable for couples
  • Suitable for children
  • Spring
  • Summer
  • Autumn
  • Winter

Please get in touch for more information.


Fürstenhammer Outdoor Museum
Siegelsdorf 25
4291 Lasberg

Phone +43 7947 7496
mobile +43 664 2308273

Contact person
Max Himmelbauer

We speak the following languages


powered by TOURDATA