The parish museum in St. Georgen im Attergau was opened in 1995 and is thematically characterized by three focal points
The Parish Museum includes three major sections: The guilds, the treasures of the Parish Archives as well as pictures & memorabilia demonstrating folkloric piety. Pride of place is given to the letters of indulgence-after all, St. Georgen possesses Upper Austria´s oldest Letter of Indulgence, dating back to the year 1299.
The place houses historic items from days gone by, such as genuine tools, machinery, and flags from the Guilds.
See how people lived back in time by strolling around authentic farmhouse furnishings, traditional costumes, looms, and memorabilia.
The Parish Archives contain old letters of indulgence and books, liturgical robes and implements, and old paintings.
The varied expressiveness of folkloric piety can be traced in showcases, featuring pilgrimage memorabilia, a rich variety of rosaries and crucifixes, candles, elaborate and skilled crafts, old prints, books, and manuscripts.
July 1st to October 18th
every Sunday from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. or at any time after prior appointment by telephone at +43 (0) 699 10229547
From Salzburg via motorway A1 – Exit St. Georgen im Attergau – right on the Attergaustraße
(L540) to the center.
From Vienna/Linz via motorway A1 – Exit St. Georgen im Attergau – right on the
Attergaustraße (L540) to the center.
From Bad Ischl – Weißenbachtal (B153) – follow B152 to Unterach and then B151 to
Attersee than left to the Attergaustraße (L540) to St. Georgen.
From Salzburg or Linz/Vienna with „Austrian Federal Railways“ or „Westbahn“ to Attnang
Puchheim - via regional train to Vöcklamarkt and St. Georgen
Arrival to Airport Salzburg or Linz – with the car/bus or train to St. Georgen im Attergau.
Please ask for details!
Please get in touch for more information.