The Museum is a timber construction that dates back to the year 1767. The monks of Michaelbeuern had this structure built as an accommodation for their servants.
From 1779 to 1809 there was a customs station between Austria and the archbishopric Salzburg. On display are uniforms, customs cash desks, confirmations, maps, and the customs declaration of Raffelstetten, which is the oldest preserved customs declaration in German-speaking countries. The Local Heritage Museum was installed at the same building. Here visitors can find a Parlor, flax working tools, cooking equipment, and more memorabilia of days gone by.
Moreover, there is a room dedicated to nature history with various species of birds and an abundant collection of weapons.
The Museum can be visited by appointment only - please call Custodiant Ludwig Renzl at +43 6217 8565
Mondays to Sundays (by appointment only):
08:00am to 12:00pm
Please get in touch for more information.